Picture
Mischa Barton. Mischa Barton? I know you’re thinking why am I writing about Mischa Barton when she hasn’t been relevant for years. Mischa first popped onto everyone’s radar in 2003 as poor little rich girl Marissa Cooper in the hit CW show The O.C. She immediately became a starlet, one to watch and was dubbed the new ‘It Girl’. I loved her, I thought she was so pretty with her tan skin and beachy brown hair and so did everyone else. It looked as if she was definitely a star on the rise and then in 2006 in the season 3 finale of The O.C they killed off her character in a car crash which was rather ironic because Mischa’s life turned into a real train wreck after that. The once fresh faced  Neutrogena model went from underweight to putting on quite a bit of weight to a drunk driving, marijuana possessing girl interrupted. She fell off the map after that even her new 2008 handbag line went relatively unnoticed (except in Dubai), but now in 2012 she is back and with her she brings a fashion line called Mischa’s Place. The line was launched in Dubai, because of their love for her handbag collection, and on www.mischasplace.com. A flagship store will be opening up in London before the end of the year. She has received lots of snickers and dismissive gestures regarding her venture into the fashion arena, many still seeing her as the young star gone awry, questioning what she could possibly know about the industry and calling her website bizarre because it features sketches of the clothes instead of photographs. But before I even looked at her range I said, ‘You go girl!’. Many celebrities’ fashion lines ride on the coat tails of their fame and popularity and truth be told Mischa has none of that going for her right now and still she goes forward, almost as if saying, “Hey, I’m not worried if you think I’m silly, this is what I want to do and I’m going to do it. Maybe the whole world won’t like it, but someone will.” Mischa’s Place is run solely by her and her mother with no outside investors and she is quoted as saying that she wants her business to grow organically. I have to say I love her handbag collection and think there is a definite market for it, go check out www.mischabartonhandbags.com. Her clothing line is very wearable and I can see girls buying it, but its nothing to rave about as I feel I've seen it before. None the less  I see success in Mischa Barton’s future, she is looking good again and is going out there and trying. After all if we don’t try we have 100% chance of failing.


Picture
GLENDALE Tote WAS £75.00 - NOW £37.50
Picture
MAGNOLIA Large Doctors Bag WAS £85.00 - NOW £42.50
Picture
BEVERLEY Cross Body WAS £49.00 - NOW £24.50



Leave a Reply.